Tea Tasting Event: Whole Foods Market on Franklin and California

Hello again, readers, and welcome back! It’s been a whole week since I last posted (having been sick for most of that time) but I’m back with a renewed sense of vigor!
A lot has happened in this past week and despite my invalid status, I’ve been busy setting up my next tea tasting event! For almost six months now I’ve been working at Whole Foods Market in San Francisco. For that time I’ve been quietly making tea whenever I could find the time (usually just basic “jar tea”). Needless to say, word got around that I am an avid tea drinker and recently I was asked to do a tea brewing demonstration to promote Whole Foods’ “Whole Planet” Foundation.

The Whole Planet Foundation is a wonderful idea that combines donations collected by employees and customers.  These donations then act as seed loans for small businesses worldwide, the majority of which go to help small, sustainable agriculture in poorer parts of the world, any of which are run by women.  If you are interested in what the Whole Planet Foundation is, please visit http://www.wholeplanetfoundation.org/about/ to learn more!



What excites me about this tea brewing opportunity is that it will be the first time that a real Gongfu Cha tea demonstration will occur at this shop. Hundreds, if not thousands of people walk through the doors of this busy store. I can’t wait to field their questions, educate them about East Asian teas, and brew them a cup of tea!
The teas featured will be a selection of loose-leaf teas that one can currently find at Whole Foods Market on Franklin. I will be consentrating on teas provided by Rishi Teas and Tao of Tea. I know this doesn’t sound like anything fancy, but knowing the tea-drinking habits of most Americans, this will be a great introduction to the flavors of real loose-leaf teas from China. I will also try to whip-up some matcha for those who are interested.


If you are interested, show up at around mid-day (11am to 2pm) on March 3rd, at Whole Foods Market at Franklin and California in San Francisco.  There should also be a variety of traditional lights snacks (alongside other “Whole Planet” products offered at Whole Foods).  I look forward to brewing tea for those who can make it.  I hope to see you there!

2 Comments

Filed under Education, Tea Tasting

2 responses to “Tea Tasting Event: Whole Foods Market on Franklin and California

  1. urwoman

    if you put a picture of food on this entry, i expect girlfriend snacks to be available at the event too. jus’ sayin’

    • To be fair, I have yet to take a picture of what I will be serving at this event. Typically speaking, though, the traditional snacks for Chinese tea drinking is usually an assortment of dried fruits and nuts. At my event, I plan to have Goji berries (“Wolfberries”), dried pumpkin seeds, and hopefully some delicious candied citrus. Since I am also planning on serving matcha, I also plan to have some Japanese treats (maybe some yokan or mochi… we shall see).

Leave a Reply

